Giving in: A new laptop

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

While walking through a large technology store in the area the other day, I decided to buy a laptop on a whim. Perhaps “whim” is a bit strong, as I’d been thinking about replacing my previous laptop for awhile, which I’d been using since September 2005. Given the average lifespan of laptops, I’d say I got my money’s worth. It was not at all in good shape; I was having trouble running a variety of programs without my system either slowing to a crawl or simply shutting said programs down. Also, it was at the point where it literally took 25-30 minutes to boot up (and yes, I was setting it to hibernate rather than shutting it down). Anyway, if you’re interested, you can look at the model I bought here:

In some ways, I can be a Luddite and resistant to changes in technology. For example, I received an electronic book reader for Christmas. I haven’t rushed to load it with books yet because I am very much attached to “regular” books, but I figure it will grow on me at some point. Despite my resistance to the newer, the faster, etc., I can’t deny that I love having a reliable computer that doesn’t take ages to reset and that I can rely on not to crash every other time I want to run a high-intensity program.

Leave a Reply

