Customer service

Posted: August 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

The other night, I accidentally spilled a glass of water on my nightstand, soaking my smartphone. I ended up putting it in a sealed container with rice, and it looks like I’ll be able to get it back, but in the meantime, I needed a working phone, so I borrowed an old phone from my mom and called Sprint to transfer my account over to that phone. It took me four different phone calls, in which I came into contact with four different customer support representatives. One sounded like she had a really bad cold; one was a clearly southern lady, and another was a guy that sounded like he was from Texas. (In my head, I envisioned him sitting there wearing a cowboy hat.) Part of the problem was that one of them was giving me wrong advice, making the problem worse.

I know that people are rude to customer support people, so I try my best to be as polite as possible. I know they put up with a lot of unjustified frustration for what is clearly not their fault, so I didn’t see a reason to be rude even if the quality of the support was mixed at best.

From now on, though, I think I’ll put a cup with a lid on  my nightstand.

Leave a Reply

