I don’t get political points for being an idealist (but it still feels good)

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

I had another interesting subbing experience last week – working at what was basically a school for a group home for troubled children. I spent two days working with eight elementary age kids. While I had no idea why they were there, all eight exhibited behavior at some time or another that I would not have expected in an ordinary school. I found it striking how they could act sweet and compliant one minute and the next, lash out toward each other (or even me) with language one would never expect to hear from a child that age. There were even a couple of incidents at recess where kids attempted to physically attack a peer.

Fortunately, I was not alone. The facility had ample staffing with well trained adults who knew how to handle the kids. It was still quite a tiring experience, and quite an eye opener. It was also rewarding – these two days reminded me of past experiences I have had in alternative education. Notably, I have subbed in the juvenile detention center. Overall, I’ve found alternative education to be the most rewarding place to sub. If I can, I would really like to go into that field full time.

Leave a Reply

